30

I turned 30 on Tuesday March 13. I remembered that I had a list of goals somewhere of things I wanted to accomplish when I turned 30. I dug it up. It was written in  2002, I was 20. I would have been in my second year of university. I had just met my friend Lauren (we had a 100 level Psych class together and also both worked at Gap). We were talking about goals and she shared with me how she had written a list of things to do before she turned 30. I thought that it sounded like a great idea and did it myself. I wrote the list in a spiral bound notebook with a purple gel pen, yes complete with sparkly gel ink. No I did not, however, dot my “i’s” with hearts. When I looked at the goals on my list I laughed out loud. Oh what goes on in the mind of 20-year-olds. There are a few things I would have liked to see on the list, and a few things I am embarrassed are on the list. So without further ado, here is the list, complete with annotations (of course).

Things to do before I’m 30:

1) Graduate Uvic with a GPA of 6.5 or higher. This one was a check! 7.25 was my GPA in fourth year. I finished overall with a 6.75. I may have slightly crapped the bed in third year as far as GPA goes, B+ was most common as I had other things keeping me busy, lol! I had met a really fun group of girls and well, let’s just say that I had many late nights- but I wasn’t studying! Looking back I get a little annoyed with my third year self, but then in the grand scheme of things what does it really matter.

2) Get my Audi Roadster. Fail. I laughed when I read this one. The movie About a Boy and the reviews in a car magazine shot down my dreams for this one. The movie demonstrated how kid-unfriendly this vehicle was for his son “Ned.” The car magazine highlighted the car’s poor visibility. Good visibility in a vehicle is important when you only have one working eye! My husband was quick to point out that we have a BMW x5 and it’s German so he figures this one should still be a check.

3) Live somewhere other than Victoria. Check. I spent 3 months living in Melbourne, Australia and I loved it. Actually I kind of wish I was there right now. It is the end of summer there, ahhhh summer.

4) See the British Isles. This one gets a 3/4 check. I have been to Scotland and England, but still have yet to get to Ireland. A chunk of my husband’s family tree comes from Ireland, so I hope that makes us more likely to visit one day.

5) Visit Australia. Check. I lived in Melbourne to complete my fourth year Practicum at the Royal Children’s Hospital in Melbourne. After my three months there, I spent 3 weeks traveling from Sydney to Cairns. I loved Australia and I would go back there in 10 seconds if I had the opportunity.

6) Own a designer purse. Check. Oh 20-year-old me, the things that were important to you. This one made me groan when I read it. I was in the phase of reading Confessions of a Shopaholic and well, let’s just say that I could relate to Becky. My first designer purse was a little over the shoulder style by Kate Spade, I still have it despite the fact that it is out of date. Kate Spade introduced me to a world of bags, and from there I was hooked. Coach was next up, and then on to Marc Jacobs (swoon). My bag now- JuJuBe. Ha- diaper bag. Although I must say that it is a bad ass diaper bag! Hmmm, maybe I still have the bag lust. Oh well, ha ha.

7) Go to Thailand. Fail; but I am not sad about this fail.This was an “everyone and their mother” goal, as in “everyone and their mother was going to Thailand” so of course I had to go too and see what all the fuss was about. Now that I know more about traveling though Southeast Asia, I really have no desire to anymore. Well, if I could stay in one of those ecoresorts with the huts on the water I would go, but that’s about it. I am not a backpacker. I think I was the only 19 year old who traveled through Europe with a suitcase on wheels, lol.

8) Own something from Tiffany & Co. Check! This goal had deep roots. Ever since I was 13 years old and saw Breakfast at Tiffany’s I was smitten. “Oh, golly gee damn!” I needed to own something from Tiffany & Co. and have it engraved on site. Well turns out that the turnaround time for engraving the bracelet that I picked out was longer than I had days in New York City, so it was never engraved. But now I think it was fate, because the bracelet I got had a dangling heart and I think that the letters “E” and “M” would be the perfect addition. There was a reason it was not engraved; my heart was not yet complete. When I return to New York, my first stop will be Tiffany & Co. for some engraving and I will be able to tell E and M all about it. How fun is that. Oh and the bracelet I got, it’s actually worth more now than when I got it, because the price of silver has gone up so much, nice! I totally knew that would happen, it was my plan all along. The bracelet was an investment piece.

9) Get married and plan my own wedding. Check. I married the person I was with when I wrote the list… 6 years later :)

10) Live in my own house. Fail; but again, not sad about it. When I wrote this list, it was conceivable that I could buy a condo and have it paid off by the time I was 30. Yeah, things have changed a wee bit. I consider something my own when I have paid for it. I am in no rush to rent from the bank right now at these prices. B has made me so aware of what is going on in our real estate market and honestly the thought of buying something right now makes me nauseated. One day maybe, but definitely not in the near future!

11) Have children and design their rooms myself. Check. I had no idea what I was getting into with this one. No idea. I can’t imagine my life without my kids, wait, wait a minute now, I think I can… hmmmm… ahhhh… okay, okay I wouldn’t trade them for the world, they’re awesome. Designing their rooms was too fun. I can’t wait until they get a bit older and need “new” rooms, lol!

12) Have a designer wallet. Check. Ha ha, said walled was acquired during the “Coach” phase. It is going on 6 years old now, so if you really think about it, it was actually a pretty good investment.

13) Stay in South America to do a tour of countries (Argentina, Brazil, Chile and Peru). Fail. This fail I am sad about. I really wanted to do this one, but time and money ran out on me. I will get there someday, this goal will make it to the next list! Fear not South America, I will be visiting.

14) Have at least one picture of everyone that I love and have loved. Epic check. This one gets a big fat check with stars. I currently have 108, 049 personal photos on my computer, and I only went digital in 2003. I have been an avid photographic record keeper since 1999, and I have the albums, and rubbermaid totes of printed photos and negatives to show for it. Oh wait… and then there are 753 photos on my iphone. When I wrote this, I didn’t picture myself becoming a professional photographer, I was in school getting a Bachelors Degree in child development, I was going to save the world, one dying child at time. I like what I do now much better.

15) Stay at a spa or B&B. Check. Funny enough, I can actually thank my former job at the Victoria Native Friendship Centre for this one. While working with them I stayed at a few spas. You know what? For the life of me I can not figure out why on earth this was a goal. Maybe I thought it was glamorous or romantic. Weird. My next list needs to have justifications so that I remember why, ha ha. I have a feeling that my 30’s are going to be much more of a whirlwind.

16. Visit New York City. CHECK. Insert some Jay-Z and Alicia Keys here. Ahhh, NYC, what can I say about that place. Nothing bad. You know when you go on a long trip and then come home and walk around your hometown and down your street and you feel “at home?” Well that’s how I felt straight off the airport shuttle bus in New York City. I walked down the street and felt, “these are my people.” NYC was such a magical place, I never wanted to leave. Ask my Aunt who came with me… I barfed on the plane I was so upset. When I see New York on tv or in movies, or even read about it in books I feel homesick. I didn’t know that you could feel homesick for somewhere that you had only spent a week in. Oh but you can. Let us pause here while my heart cries because now I am feeling homesick for New York City. I will be back.

And there you have it, my goals! I am currently working on part 2 of this post… Things to do before I turn 40…

1 Comment

Filed under Daily Check In

One response to “30

  1. Auntie Sharon

    I confirm – everything she said about NY is true…!

Leave a Reply

