7 pounds and 6 ounces of pure joy!

We visited our midwife Julia today for our 2 week check in. Everly weighed in at 7 pounds, 6 ounces, not too shabby. I was not shocked by the amount of weight that she has gained as all this child does is eat! From about 8:30pm to 10:00pm she does a shift of continual eating. I don’t know where she puts it as her tummy is only supposed to be the size of her fist, she likely has two hollow legs like her dad; she sleeps like her dad and eats like her dad. The good thing about this is that it will contribute to her being a healthy little girl (getting lots of sleep and food). Julia also said that a 5 hour stretch is considered sleeping through the night for babies… I don’t know who thought this one up, but sleeping through the night to me is AT LEAST 8 hours, but honestly we can’t complain; 5 to 6 hours is a nice strech to get through the middle of the night.

She is awake more during the day now which is interesting. Despite what I do for a living I am sometimes not really sure what to do with her. I am not used to a typical baby, only babies that are facing challenges, her typicalness has thrown me for a loop. We spend a lot of time staring at each other while I make early speech sounds, lucky baby- yes I know! She seems to like me though so that’s a good thing. Maybe she likes me a bit too much sometimes, like when she does not continue to nap because I have put her down on a non-human surface (goodness forbid!), he he he. I have to admit though that I love seeing her big blue eyes wide open and taking in the world. Right now it is safe to say that “she loves lamp.”

She is snuggling with her dad right now so that I can have some time to myself. I continue to find it amazing how one little critter can make you feel claustophobic (sp?). It’s such a double edged sword; I want to spend every minute of every day with her, yet there are some moments in the day when I just want to have my space. Apparently this is normal as parenthood, especially motherhood, is a big adjustment. There is nothing around that can prepare you for how needy a newborn baby is. You find so much joy in your new role but also a lot of challenges, and then it all takes you back to that guilt thing that I wrote about yesterday…

Here’s a picture of our little chomper trying to nurse from her dad’s arm, I wasn’t kidding when I said this kid does nothing but EAT!

2009 May 25 009

Leave a comment

Filed under Daily Check In

Leave a Reply

