Grrrrrrr!

Her birth announcement is done; FINALLY! I was waiting until I felt inspired by certain pictures and until I had a really clear idea about what I wanted to do. Well the clear idea came and here they are below. They should be arriving in the mail soon to many of you 🙂

Introducing...

Introducing...

Wow, we really hit Wonder Week 12 with a giant bump! I felt as though someone had taken my perfect little girl again- argh! Baby had decided to reinstate the 4:30am feeding; it’s funny how the 2 hours less of solid sleep can really make the difference between zombie and fun loving gal. When she was sleeping it wasn’t peaceful sleep either like it was before so she woke us up with her grunts and growls- she is a fierce grizzly bear! She did not appreciate being put down on her own at all, so I was back to going pee with her in my arms. Yes people had said just put her down and go pee, but then she cried; I don’t know about some of you but I can’t pee well under that kind of pressure. She had taken to not liking her car seat (she had to get over that one because we were not staying home every day!) and scoffed at the idea of using her deluxe swing. She had this hilarious old guy scowl on her face and grunted with displeasure immediately if she found herself displeased. She was just a fussy bunny all around. I realized that she was really gassy at this point as well, so I went and bought some Colic Drops and they worked like a hot damn! We have been using them since and funny enough our sunny baby has slowly returned. It’s nice to have her sleeping 7 hours again and waking up with smiles. Baby we missed you!

She's back- hurray!

She's back- hurray!

On a brighter note, she did laugh out loud for the first time on Tuesday and it was such a beautiful sound! The dog was growling and apparently she thought this was hilarious. We could barely get a smile out of her at that point, but the dog growling was hilarious, go figure. I guess since they are both wild beasts they have an unspoken wild beast understanding. Babies and dogs- they are nuts.

Wild rabies baby... grrrr!

Wild rabies baby... grrrr!

Also on Tuesday, we found out that we don’t have a family doctor anymore. The GP that I have had for 15 years retired in January leaving me without one in the middle of my pregnancy. It was hard to find a doctor who was willing to take on a pregnant woman with a midwife, but I thought I had found one in the practice of Dr. Walter Salmaniw and Dr. Wayne Perry. I visited Dr. Perry twice while I was pregnant and then twice after the baby was born. When I called to make an appointment yesterday (to refill my prenatal vitamin prescription), I was told that the doctors could not see me or Everly anymore because I had a midwife for my prenatal care. WTF??? Now I could understand if they had told me this from the start, but I had seen them 4 times and they knew I had a midwife. So now I am without a GP and so is Everly because I wanted more personalized prenatal care? I actually said to the receptionist, okay so you are leaving me and my 3 month old daughter without a doctor, she said yes, sorry- I promptly hung up the phone I was so enraged. So I called our midwife with our concerns and she suggested a nurse practitioner who works with many of the midwifery groups in Victoria. Now let me add here that midwifery care ends at 6 weeks postpartum, yet she still returned my call and spent 45 minutes on the phone with me, a little different than the GP who is willing to dump us! I called up the office of the nurse practitioner and wouldn’t you know, we were accepted right away as clients- no questions asked. I think we are done with GPs!

Baby is shocked!

Baby is shocked!

Leave a comment

Filed under Daily Check In

Leave a Reply

