Night 3…

Pumpkin Patch- eating dirt; YUM!

Pumpkin Patch- eating dirt; YUM!

I am happy to say that last night went pretty good! There was only 25 minutes of crying and she slept until 6:00 am this morning. I knew she will still tired though so I fed her and she went down again for another hour and a half; we all got up for the day at 7:30 am, not too bad! I could get used to nights like that (with no crying though would be ideal!). We are so proud of her and hoping that since (we think) she’s smart she will learn quickly, lol, and all of this nightmare will be over soon!

With that said… naps have not gone so well today. She has gone down on her usual schedule but there has been at least 15 minutes of crying- ugh! She is SO tired though, I don’t know why she just doesn’t give in and sleep- she is so stubborn sometimes and we have no idea where she gets it- her father and I are so confused (lol). I have noticed that for naps 1 and 2 she has begun the habit of no longer than 30 minutes and then for nap 3 she will slepp for nearly 2 hours. After she gets up from naps 1 and 2 she is still noticeably tired too. I leave her in her crib for a bit before I get her up, but even after 20 minutes she doesn’t settle again- any ideas?

We went to the Pumpkin Patch yesterday, that was fun! I found the biggest pumpkin that I could and that’s the one we brought home, I wonder if Everly will be that type of kid too? We are going to carve it tomorrow I think, I can’t wait for her to feel the goo, lol! Will post Patch pictures as soon as they are ready, I went a little nuts and took about 300 so there are lots to go through… maybe tonight while I wait for her to go to sleep 🙂

I am going to post our Sleepsense Program below… try as I could before I couldn’t find written examples of some of these things and I thought it might be helpful for anyone else out there who is also struggling to see what we are up to. By NO MEANS does this mean I think that someone should use our same “program” though, this is just what is working for us- every famliy and every baby will be different!

Everly’s Schedule

 7:30 am – wakes up for the day  – eats, plays (in that order)

9:00 am – eats and has first nap of the day

10:30 am – wakes from first nap of the day – eats, plays (in that order)

12:30 pm – eats and has second nap of the day

2:00 pm – wakes from second nap of the day- eats, plays (in that order)

4:00 pm – eats and has third nap of the day

5:30 pm – wakes from third nap of the day- eats, plays (in that order)

6:30 pm – offer snack feeding (she usually takes it)

7:00 pm – bedtime routine begins (see bedtime routine)

7:30 pm – in bed

 

Naptime Routine

 1-  Song (Banana’s Unite)

2- Story (book of choice)

3- Check diaper and put in sleep sack, give kisses and say I love yous

4- “Night-night” to room and toys, close blinds (night-night light)

5- feeding (do not let her fall asleep while feeding- or even close her eyes!)

6- put in crib (no soother)

Takes approximately 10 minutes / needs minimum of 60 minutes of sleep, aim for 90 minutes

 

Bedtime Routine

 1- Bathtime

2-  Songs (Banana’s Unite and Slippery Fish)

3- Story (Pajama Time)

4- Put in sleep sack, give kisses (cheeks, forehead, fingers, toes, belly button, nose) and say I love yous

5- feeding (do not let her fall asleep or even close her eyes!)

6- put in crib (no soother)

 Takes approximately 30 minutes/ unless very obviously hungry, does not get fed until at least 6:00am

 

Sleep Time Strategy

 1- lay Everly down awake in her crib with no soother

 2- if she fusses, wait 10 minutes to see if she will calm herself (if at 10 minutes she is almost calm wait another few minutes just in case she is almost asleep).

 3- if she has not yet settled, enter the room and say “mommy’s here” and “night night” and “shhhhhh” to reassure her that I am still close. Do not let her fall asleep to my voice, just calm.

 4- if she does not settle down to the sound of my voice I will lightly stroke her head from crown to forehead while repeating above phrases. Do not let her fall asleep, just calm her.

 5- remain in the room for reassurance for 10 minutes or until she is very calm, try to exit before she is fully asleep if I can.

 6- If she has not settled, or if she wakes again wait 20 minutes for her to settle herself and then repeat steps 2 through 5.

 7- for any additional wakings or if she is still fussing, wait 30 minutes for her to settle herself down and then repeat steps 2 through 5.

Leave a comment

Filed under Daily Check In

Leave a Reply

