Well It Can Only Get Better From Here!

I am going to start with what was positive about last night… 1) she fell asleep with less than 10 minutes of protesting, 2) she didn’t wake up after 30 minutes and cry for an hour and 3) she remained sleeping even though there was an exciting football game on upstairs. So when I went to bed around 10:00 I was feeling pretty good. I even got to watch Grey’s Anatomy on the actual night it was on!

Fast forward to 2:34am… she starts with some mumbling, some slight whining and then moves on to talking to herself. This happens sometimes and usually in 10 minutes she is back to sleep again. Not this time. Oh no, she decided to put the P in protesting last night. She went for about an hour and twenty minutes. We knew she wasn’t hungry and that she had a clean bum, she just wanted to get up and play. When I walked into the room I was met with a big smile and silence. It was really hard not to pick her up and start playing, but we really don’t need to start making a habit of that. So I rolled her back over and said night night and she continued to protest. After 30 minutes I left the room and traded shifts with B, he stuck it out until she was asleep, we thought! She slept for 20 minutes and then started up again. I figured okay, she usually wakes up about this time to eat so I will feed her. After her feeding she went to sleep in about 10 minutes. I thought now she will sleep a bit longer, it was about 4:30am at this point so I thought we would make it until at least 6:00am if not 7:00.

Nope, no dice. She was up at 5:00am and protested for another 30 minutes; this time I was on her floor on a yoga mat because it really didn’t make sense to go back and forth from our bed to keep flipping her over. I was crying my eyes out. Not protesting, crying. I was so bloody frustrated. There was nothing more I could do for her except to let her get what she wanted, and what she wanted wasn’t going to help anyone in the long run, including her. She slept for another 30 minutes after that.

At 6:00am she was up and ready for a diaper change and a feeding. We usually bring  her into our bed at this point in the morning because sometimes she stays awake- thank goodness she didn’t decide to do that today. She went back to sleep and didn’t get up until 8:45. The irony of this is that I had to be up and out the door at 8:30am to go to the flu shot clinic. When I left, she was peacefully sleeping.

On my way to work to get my immunizations I was listening to the radio quite loud and had the windows down, an attempt to wake myself up after only 4 and a bit hours of sleep (I slept more when she was newborn!)… while listening to the radio, the song Kumbaya was coming in and out. I thought okay, this is it, I am officially going crazy, I am hearing Kumbaya on the radio (they do not play that song on The Zone). Time to loose the clothes and go wandering in the park. As I turned a corner though it disappeared… only to come back again later, but how weird. Obviously the radio paths were crossed somehow, but at that moment, rational thought was not present.

So now today. She is napping now and let’s hope that she is happy when she wakes up. With two sore arms and a bit of a headache I am in no mood to negotiate with a terrorist!

Leave a comment

Filed under Daily Check In

Leave a Reply

