Tungsten Carbide

I hate going to the dentist, it is one of two things that I am a total wimp about, I just can’t help it. The other thing that I am total wimp about is exercise, I don’t really like to sweat either, I can admit it, I won’t even pretend. Both of those things I know that I need to do, despite not caring to do them and so I make myself get through it. With this said, I would rather run 10 km’s and then have 10 teeth filled than listen to Everly protest in the middle of the night. I am not sure what it is about a 2:30 am wake up time for her, but whenever she wakes up at 2:30 am, I know that we are in for a looooooong night. When I first hear little peeps, I don’t go running right away. I wait about 20 minutes if the protesting begins to escalate. If she seems content to be awake and not angry, I wait longer; basically I wait through the protesting until I can’t wait any longer (usually around 20 minutes), which usually brings us to about 3:00 am. At that time, I change her, snuggle her and then feed her and put her back in her crib. At her usual wake up time of 4:30 am, she would go right back to sleep after this routine, but for some reason the 2:30 am wake up is different, it is our nemesis. It is not unheard of for me to still be awake at 4:30 on nights such as these, it is 4:00 am as I write this right now, might as well get something done while I wait for her to go back to sleep.

Now, don’t get me wrong here; I don’t just sit on the couch and do whatever I want while she protests her little heart out! I still go in the room every 10 minutes or so and check on her. I make sure that she is still warm and safe and dry and I gently pat her head and tell her that I love her- I don’t abandon her. When I do leave the room I am sitting on the other side of the door pretty much as her door is right next to the couch in our living room- we have a cozy, little living space at the moment 🙂

I just don’t understand what it is about this time that does it. I looked back into the records that I keep and every time she wakes at this time of night she protests for a long time. Sometimes when I go in her room she seems wide awake like it is the morning… this wouldn’t be so confusing if she also woke at 4:30 am this way. When she wakes at 4:30 she is still awake, but more groggy, not bright eyed and ready to play. Is 2:30 am a good time to play or what? Am I missing something, did I not get the memo?

I have read of moms who will take the baby out of the crib and play with them in the middle of the night if they seem wide awake and won’t go back to sleep- if that works for them I think that’s great and I bow down to their mommy patience! My hesitation in getting up and playing is that I don’t want to make a habit of it. I would like Everly to know that when it is dark and quiet it is not time to play. I understand that this means I have to listen to some protesting from her on the matter, but the way I see it is that if the night time play dates became a habit I would have to break her from that eventually. I guess it just comes down to when you want to go through the habit unbreaking process.

Also, I have to admit that as much as I hate to listen to the protesting and as hard as it is, the protesting demonstrates a positive character trait in my daughter- her tenacity. I have chosen to take a more positive view on her “sleep training” taking a bit longer than is typical; I have decided that I should respect the fat that she has tenacity in spades. She isn’t just a little bit stubborn or strong willed, she is a lot stubborn and has will of tungsten carbide (what drill bits are made of). This is a character trait that I will be happy for her to have when it is peer pressure time, I know that if she really does not want to do something she won’t. Now let’s hope that she is not on the other side of the peer pressure or those poor pressured kids won’t stand a chance, lol! I am feeling a bit peer pressured myself sometimes, she’s all like, it’s 2:30 am and time to play mom, all the cool moms and babies are doing it, you don’t want to be uncool do you?? Yes baby, consider me uncool. If sleep is uncool, consider me the biggest geek in school 🙂

And she’s asleep… 4:13 am and I am ready to go back to bed!

2 Comments

Filed under Daily Check In

2 responses to “Tungsten Carbide

  1. Okay, I was thinking about your issues and if the advice and attempt to help is unwanted just let me know… I totally get that 😛

    I was wondering what her nap schedule is like during the day…

    Reason I ask is because our Everly had the same “witching hour” kind of thing. Our solution was tweaking her naptimes and bedtime.

    I am new to the blog so have you read “healthy sleep habits, happy child”? It helped us get a sense of a normal naptime/ bedtime routine. Of course each baby is different but it gave a guide for us to experiment with.

    Now we’ve noticed that if E doesn’t get enough awake time (with stimulating activity aka. going out to teach with mommy) then she can’t sleep solid at night.

    On days when I am not teaching and she naps and just relaxes around the house with me she reverts right back to those insane night wakings 😦

    This might not be your issue but it might be worth experimenting with naptimes and changing her bedtime.

    • Jessica Bender

      We are pretty active during the day. Usually I make sure that she gets 2 good naps in at home and then we go out for the afternoon, either a playgroup, playdate, walks, etc… I notice that she sleeps better when she has had fresh air.

      She is actually sleeping really great right now (knock on wood), the past 3 nights have been the exact same and really good, so I think we have taken a turn for the better.

      For her, I think it was just a battle of wills, she did not want to have things any other way than how she had them before, it was all she knew and I understand that. We had a bit of a steep learning curve.

      I am crossing my fingers that she remains on this path that she is currently on, lol! Thanks for the input though- I am always up for constructive support 🙂

Leave a Reply

