Better Days

For the last 6 months I have been quietly working my way through a gastrointestinal issue. Despite seeking immediate medical help when my symptoms became severe and collecting a team of medical professionals who each ordered a heap of tests, this issue seems to be getting worse. I have a pretty sunny disposition and so I have been keeping positive. But at the same time, it has been really difficult for me to have a chronic health issue that distupts my life, as I have a VERY active life! Any health issue I have had in the past has been annoying, but fixable desipite varying degrees of severity. This issue, I have found, is not immediately fixable (hello frustration station!). I feel like I am on an episode of house as the patient; bring in the special ops team and the good doctor himself please and thank you!

As a result of the unpredictible nature of my illness, I have had to learn the skill of  graciously saying (gasp) no, and (eek) rebooking. Up until this point it has been uncceptable for me as an individual and a business owner to have to turn someone away or to reschedule a session that we had planned. I am finding, to my great relief that my clients are beyond understanding. How much gratitude I have towards those who have been so easygoing, flexible and genuinely concerned regarding my health, well it’s immeasurable. As I sit here and type this, I can’t help but feel joy despite the pain in my belly.

But don’t worry, I have no plans to stop working! I am just lightening the load a little bit. So if you do want to book for Fall/Winter photos I would recommend doing so quickly as I am limiting spaces to make sure that I can continue to provide my clients with the high quality of service and photography that they expect.

Photography is one of the things (along with my family), that still continues to bring me joy despite the ups and downs of my health. It’s going to take a lot more than my gastrointestinal issues for me to give up one of my life’s passions!

So thank you, thank you, thank you to everyone who has been so supportive of me. You all know who you are and please know that your support and understanding has painted the walls of frustration pink and yellow, and maybe even added a few balloons so that I have something pretty to look at while I am waiting 🙂

And because every post needs a picture:

Everly and I, Photographed by Jon-Mark Wiltshire

3 Comments

Filed under Daily Check In

3 responses to “Better Days

  1. I am so sorry you are suffering. I went through something very similar a few years back and I was devastated when I had to quit my job and drop out of school because of my health (I had never quit anything before). I went to so many doctors I couldn’t keep their names straight and I ended up in the hospital at least twice a month.
    Long story short, I found an amazing naturopath who discovered I was suffering from an inflammatory disease that caused my upper GI tract to be so inflamed that I couldn’t keep food down (why the doctors never figured that out I’ll never know). She was awesome in helping me to make the little changes that made all the difference in my life.
    I really hope that you find that one person that can make the difference in your health and that wellness is just around the corner. Good luck!!

    • Thanks Natalie!

      I have to say that our stories sound really similar. I have just found a naturopath and I think she knows what she is talking about more than anyone else too! I am hoping that with this latest round of testing we will be able to develop a really solid plan. My next appointment is September 8 and I am looking forward to a lot of change coming from that visit! It makes me feel better to know that other people have worked through similar issues and are now healthy and happy!

      Jess xo

      littlepicklephotography.com ~ jlbender@shaw.ca ~ 250 882 1276

  2. it already sounds like you’re moving in the right direction, jess. keep following your joy above all else. wanting the best for you!

Leave a Reply

