Scientific Reporting

After a month of using 26 different old wives tales to guess the gender of our baby, I thought it important to report the results in order to remain true to my scientific process (said with tongue in cheek). So now that we have confirmed via 3D ultrasound that we are in fact expecting a baby boy! here are the results…

Cabbage Test- Girl

Baking Soda Test- Girl

Heart Rate- Girl

Ancient Chinese Chart- Boy

Mother’s Intuition- Girl

Intuitive’s Prediction- Boy

Morning Sickness- Girl

Activity Level- Boy

Ring Dangle- Girl

Hair Growth- Girl

Breast Growth- Girl

Acne Development- Boy

Urine Colour- Boy

Maternal Age- Boy

Financial Status- Girl

Feet Temperature- Girl

Baby’s Reaction to you- Boy

Daddy Weight Gain- Boy

Intelligender- Boy

Make-up- Boy

Everly’s First Word- Girl

Ancient Mayan Prediction- Girl

Belly Position- Boy

Key Pick Up- Girl

Leg Swelling- Boy

Everly’s Guess- Girl

So that’s 13 for Girl and 13 for Boy, which means I had a 50/50 chance at either gender. This experiment has taught me that people have a 50/50 chance at either gender. How’s that for irony.

In wrapping my head around the idea of being a mother to a son, I have begun to deconstruct my thinking about gender. It occurred to me that I was using the wrong term when referring to whether our baby was male or female, I should have been using the word sex, not gender. The World Health Organization defines the two as the following:

“Sex refers to the biological and physiological characteristics that define men and women.

Gender refers to the socially constructed roles, behaviours, activities, and attributes that a given society considers appropriate for men and women.

To put it another way:

“Male” and “female” are sex categories, while “masculine” and “feminine” are gender categories.”

How’s that for deep on a Friday morning? But it’s true. The majority of us bring our babies into the world as either sex and through the nature/nurture process they begin to identify with a particular gender. As parents it is our job to provide a variety of opportunities for our children for them to explore and develop their sense of self. Oh and this is just slightly scary to me, I am only mildly intimidated. Can you smell my fear from your computer?

Why at the idea of raising a son am I all of a sudden more scared? I said this question out loud at work and one of my brilliant coworkers replied, because you are not a boy. A-ha! She hit the obvious nail on it’s obvious head; so obvious that I was oblivious. I feel more confident in my ability to raise a well adjusted female, because I identify with being female in this world. So it’s time to learn about the challenges facing both males and females in this world and how to support them. Anyone have any resources to recommend? Oh and click the link from the image below… very interesting!

2 Comments

Filed under Daily Check In

2 responses to “Scientific Reporting

  1. Jacquie

    A colleague sent me an excellent video explaining sex and gender awhile back because I was using the terms inter-changeably in a presentation.

    Check it out:
    http://www.genderandhealth.ca/difference.jsp

  2. Crystal

    Excellent, 50% chance!

Leave a Reply

